Skip to main content

Inland Empire and SoCal Chapter recognized for Legislative Award at NAIOP Legislative Retreat in DC

Washington, D.C., February 19, 2013 – Last week at the 2013 Chapter Leadership and Legislative Retreat, NAIOP SoCal and NAIOP Inland Empire were both presented with the 2013 Capitol Dome Award. Lang Cottrell accepted the award for NAIOP SoCal and Kim Snyder accepted the award for NAIOP Inland Empire.

Both chapters were awarded with this honor due to their dedication towards advocacy for the industry and for their accomplishments related to buildings codes that were adopted by the International Code Council (ICC).

In 2009, the ICC adopted model building codes that reduced the egress distance from 400 to 250 feet before requiring an emergency exit passageway or tunnel for occupants of a factory or warehouse structure. In this instance, the reduction in the egress distance was unwarranted and would have placed necessary burdens on industrial property owners.

NAIOP Inland Empire and NAIOP SoCal took action. With support from NAIOP members outside the state, these chapters, in partnership with the California Business Properties Association, commissioned a study, built a coalition, and worked with the state’s Fire Marshall in demonstrating to the ICC that a 400 foot exit distance is appropriate without compromising the overall safety of the buildings occupants. As a result, the ICC committee of jurisdiction agreed and reinstated the original 400 foot egress as part of its model code.

The successful adoption and reinstatement of 400 feet within the model code would not have occurred without the hard work and leadership of these two chapters on behalf of the industrial property community in California and across the country.

Special thanks to Task Force 400, the committee who made it happen and our 2012 Industry Leader recipients at the 2012 REXIE Awards.  The committee included:

Doug Dupree – City of San Bernardino Fire Department  
Dean Brown – Tejon Ranch  
John Burroughs – Commerce Construction / Majestic Realty Co.  
Matthew Hargrove – CBPA    
Dennis Roy – RGA Office of Architectural Design
Ned Sciortino – Hillwood – A Perot Company
Kevin Scott – International Code Council